Optimization of product development to establish a best-in-class R&D setup within the global automotive headlamp industry

Ralf-Klädtke-Th

"Together with 3DSE, we set the direction to optimize our R&D setup with the ZKW Lean Engineering Program (LEP) for the long-term transformation to best-in-class of complex premium lighting and electronic systems."

Ralf Klädtke

during his time as CTO at

ZKW Group

Optimization of product development to establish a best-in-class R&D setup within the global automotive headlamp industry

The international ZKW corporate group is a leading strategic partner worldwide in the automotive industry and a specialist for innovative premium lighting and electronic systems.

The company completed another record year in 2018, increasing its consolidated group sales to over 1.34 billion euros. At the same time, the number of employees in the Group grew to just under 9,700 at the end of 2018.

In order to remain at the forefront of technical development and ensure long-term competitiveness, ZKW faces the challenge of increasing the efficiency and effectiveness of product development despite growing product complexity.

To accomplish this task, the R&D setup must be transformed into a best-in-class within the global automotive headlamp industry in terms of development costs, lead times and total lifecycle costs. With the help of the 3DSE R&D optimization approach, an interdisciplinary team quickly analyzed the current situation at ZKW, selected the most promising fields of action, and developed an optimization roadmap. The “LEAN Engineering Program” (LEP) derived from this has the goal of sustainably streamlining today’s product development and making the increasing product complexity manageable.

“3DSE’s expertise in systems engineering and lean engineering, as well as its contribution of best practice approaches, has enabled us to develop a holistic concept for an R&D setup of the future,” says Ralf Klädtke, CTO of ZKW Group. “For piloting and implementation, we continue to rely on 3DSE to ensure sustainable implementation.”

Would you like to discover more 3DSE success stories?

We have already carried out many successful projects with our customers from a wide range of industries. Find out more about how our customers have experienced working with us.

Optimierung der Produktentwicklung zur Etablierung eines Best-in-Class F&E-Setups innerhalb der globalen Automobilscheinwerferindustrie

Ralf Klädtke

"Gemeinsam mit der 3DSE konnten wir mit dem ZKW „LEAN Engineering Program“ (LEP) die Optimierung unseres F&E-Setups auf den Weg bringen, um uns langfristig zu Best-in-Class bei komplexen Premium-Licht- und -Elektroniksystemen zu entwickeln."

Ralf Klädtke

in seiner Zeit als CTO bei

ZKW Group

Optimierung der Produktentwicklung zur Etablierung eines Best-in-Class F&E-Setups innerhalb der globalen Automobilscheinwerferindustrie

Die international tätige ZKW Unternehmensgruppe ist weltweit einer der führenden strategischen Partner der Automobilindustrie und Spezialist für innovative Premium-Licht- und -Elektroniksysteme.

Das Unternehmen schloss mit 2018 ein weiteres Rekordjahr ab und konnte seinen konsolidierten Konzernumsatz auf über 1,34 Milliarden Euro erhöhen. Gleichzeitig wuchs der Personalstand der Unternehmensgruppe auf knapp 9.700 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter zum Ende 2018 an.

Um weiterhin an der Spitze der technischen Entwicklung stehen zu können und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit langfristig sicherzustellen, steht ZKW vor der Herausforderung trotz steigender Produktkomplexität die Effizienz und Effektivität der Produktentwicklung zu steigern.

Für die Bewältigung dieser Aufgabe gilt es, das F&E-Setup hinsichtlich Entwicklungskosten, Durchlaufzeiten und Gesamtlebenszykluskosten zu einem Best-in-Class innerhalb der globalen Automobilscheinwerferindustrie zu transformieren. Mithilfe des 3DSE F&E-Optimierungsansatzes wurde mit einem interdisziplinären Team in kürzester Zeit die aktuelle Situation bei ZKW analysiert, die erfolgversprechendsten Handlungsfelder ausgewählt und eine Optimierungs-Roadmap erarbeitet. Das daraus abgeleitete „LEAN Engineering Program“ (LEP) hat das Ziel, die heutige Produktentwicklung nachhaltig zu verschlanken und die steigende Produktkomplexität beherrschbar zu machen.

„Durch die Expertise der 3DSE in den Bereichen Systems Engineering und Lean Engineering sowie der Einbringung von Best-Practice-Ansätzen ist es uns gelungen, ein ganzheitliches Konzept für ein F&E-Setup der Zukunft zu entwickeln“, sagt Ralf Klädtke, CTO der ZKW Group. „Für die Pilotierung und Implementierung vertrauen wir weiterhin auf die 3DSE, damit die nachhaltige Umsetzung sichergestellt ist.“